The Mighty WIDE Mississippi

My sister Cathy has been sending pix of the rising Mississippi as it takes over Burlington, Iowa. Her building and the family’s restaurant, La Tavola, are uphill by about two blocks from where all of this is happening. Apparently, the gas has been turned off in much of downtwon, but Cheryl and Carlo have switched to a “cold” menu with whatever they can do without the gas stove!

The river is supposed to crest on Thursday, but it has already burst through the levees on the other side of the bridge and flooded out Gulfport, Illinois. As weird as it all is, Cheryl says that the most eerie thing is not hearing the trains barrel through town.

Anyway, here are some links to Cathy’s pics:

Tuesday, June 17
Monday, June 16
Sunday, June 15

Look for the random shark fin; as dire as things are, someone in Burlington does have a sense of humor! So much of what is under water is where Cathy usually walks her dogs.

4 Responses to “The Mighty WIDE Mississippi”


  1. 1 M & K June 22, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Cathy,

    Our family was at your sister’s restaurant Feb. 28th for our son’s wedding dinner.(Jeremy & Sarah) Wonderful place to eat. We wish Cheryl and Carlo all the luck and pray that all is well with them. Our hearts go out to all the flood victims.

    M & K
    Southern Illinois

  2. 2 Rob Raczkowski June 24, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    WOW I can’t believe I found this. Cheryl & Carlo are very good friends and their son and mine are best friends. We knew them when they were living here in NJ. When I spoke with Cheryl a while back she told me they were up high. Thanks to your pics I feel a little more at ease but I will call her tonight.

  3. 3 ProphetJoe July 17, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Cindy,

    Thank you and your sister Cathy for the photos on the Burlington flood! While I never (personally) lived in Burlington, my family had close ties to the town (in fact, my mother, father and brother were born there). My grandparents lived across river in Henderson County, IL.

    My siblings and I used to spend part of each summer with my grandparents and each year we would make at least 1 trip to Burlington to play in Crapo Park, shop at the department stores (before malls, of course), get Dairy Queen (hmmm) and visit assorted relatives. My one grandma used to also take us to Lock and Dam #18 (just north of Burlington) to watch the barge traffic (wow, how life has changed for tweens!)

    My last grandparent passed away in 1995 and I don’t think I’ve been to Burlington since… yet when I heard of the flooding, my memory started recalling images from my boyhood and finding your sister’s photo just revitalized the gray cells!

    I am hoping to visit the area in August to do some genealogy research and I will definitely visit La Tavola (although I have fond memories of the Big Muddy restaurant too — in fact they used to post the flood level inside the building from the 1993 floods) and say hello to Cathy.

    Thanks again for the pictures. I will return to read more about your blog (we’re pretty close in age — 3 years apart)!

    Joe


  1. 1 Greetings, Y’all! « 50 Fabulous Firsts Trackback on January 6, 2009 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

