I Voted Today!

Today I cast my vote in here in Austin at the Ben Hur Shriner Center. As I walked up, I kept thinking about this touching account of early voting in Evansville, Indiana, sure that scenes like that are playing out  all over the country right now.

It was busy but not packed, and everyone seemed happy to be there. Instead of voting for the straight Democratic ticket, I went through each race and made my selections. First up was the vote for Barack Obama and Joe Biden. Seeing that historic ticket gave me goosebumps and, dang it, I got a bit teary. I took great pleasure in selecting Barry and Joe and then Rick Noriega and Larry Joe Doherty. And I hope I got my vote right on Proposition 2; that’s one of those backwards votes! At the end, I reviewed my ballot, delighted to see that there they were again, Barack Obama and Joe Biden, right at the top. It was all I could do not to start dancing and singing “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” at the top of my lungs. Instead, I opted for propriety and indulged in a couple more of moments to stare at their names to let it all soak in before proudly casting my vote.

What a year it’s been! I got to vote for Hillary in the primary and now Barack in THE election!

Regardless of your party preferences, get out and vote early — you’ll be glad you did!

0 Responses to “I Voted Today!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

