The Writing Gene

sofia-fall-2008It’s official: There’s a writing gene in my family, most recently evidenced in my nine-year-old niece, Sofia (left, decked out in finery from La Tavola, the family restaurant in Burlington, Iowa). Sof’s been writing for years, and I’d heard reports that she just can’t stop. My sister/her mother told me Sof will come home from school, announcing, “I have to get on the computer right now — I’ve got a story!”

So I emailed Sofia and asked her to send me something. Boy, did she send it:

“i did write this on book called the pastry battle to is about a girl named emily stood up to this on girl that said she was better a baking pastry then anyone in the world . and emily said she was way better then holly and then they said that on one day they will have a battle against each other . then emily went home and turned to a dumb old easy bake oven with a cold blue lightbulb . and emily’s mom taught her how to bake but she still was not good at it so on they day of the battle emily’s pastry was burt and holly’s hade egg shells in her pastry so they both lost the battle and they we friends.”

I’d say she’s got the one-graph pitch DOWN, spelling and punctuation not so much. Now, if I can just get her to send me a story she calls “Hulu Baby”!

Leave a Reply

