Greetings, Y’all!

2008-xmas-card-final-0012

What a roller-coaster ride 2008 was! First off, I turned 50 in January and started writing about it right here at my blog. I celebrated by accompanying sister Carol on her annual “Cruise with Carol” (along with 200-plus of her listeners at her radio station, KFDI) and then joining Carol, sister Cathy, niece Caitlyn, and our pal James for a very wet yet entertaining Opening Day at Wrigley Field, plus I had the pleasure of seeing nephew Chris play baseball at Bradley.

In April, I was jumping for joy over the University of Kansas winning the national championship in basketball, after capping off that unbelievable 11-1 football season with that Orange Bowl win. I’m still looking for that T-shirt that says “KU Football: A Tradition Since … September 2007”! And Nebraska football is rebuilding quite nicely under new coach Bo Pelini, much to my delight.
In May I accepted at position as the executive director of the Writers’ League of Texas, a nonprofit organization that works with writers of all kinds. So as you can guess, I’m once again causing all kinds of literary mayhem and loving every minute of it!

Then, like almost everyone else in the country, I was absorbed by the election. I got to do the wacky Texas two-step during the primary, by voting for Hillary and caucusing for Barack Obama (no place but Texas was that even possible!). Even though my favorite four words are “President-Elect Barack Obama,” I do hope that we can finally come together, regardless of our political persuasion, in the face of these uncertain challenges we’re all facing. Sometimes it takes something really huge for us all to wake up and get on with what really matters.

As for the four-legged members of Chez Cyndle, ThunderDog and Patsy Clementine are hanging in there, considering all they have going on healthwise. I just couldn’t figure out how to work them in to the Sarah Palin “Rogue” theme! Edina the cat takes great glee in relishing her record of appearing in only ONE holiday photo!

Then there’s the extended family. Carol was nominated for radio personality of the year at the Country Music Awards — you can hear her on the air from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. weekdays at KFDI. Cheryl and Carlo moved to Burlington, Iowa, in 2007 to open La Tavola, an Italian restaurant, with Cathy. It’s a big hit in a town that was hoping to get an Olive Garden! They all rode out the Mississippi flooding, which didn’t reach Cathy’s building or the restaurant but did wreak havoc with utilities. Gary and Deb are doing well in KC; Spencer graduated from high school and is now going to community college when he’s not playing guitar, and Tanner is wrestling and playing drums (yes, he and his brother have a band!). The other nieces and nephews are great: Chelsea is at UC Irvine, doing graduate work; Chris is now playing baseball at Ouchita Baptist University in Arkansas; and Caity turned 16 and got her first car! Cheryl’s kiddos have settled in to life in Burlington; Giovanni just turned 13, and Sofia is 10 and just can’t stop writing stories (hmmm, I wonder where she gets that!).

Anyway, I hope 2009 is good to you! I’ll be updating my blog more often in 2009, and I’d LOVE to have more comments from friends and family! So sign up at WordPress and dish it back at me!

2 Responses to “Greetings, Y’all!”


  1. 1 Michele Kay January 7, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Cyndi: What a great card. I loved it.

    Michele

  2. 2 Jordan Bucher January 7, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    LOVE the holiday card! We were laughing so hard over here. Keep ’em coming. Love the blog.


Leave a Reply

