Adios to Richard From Texas, Part 2

Here’s my full tribute to my friend Richard Vogt (a.k.a. Richard From Texas) that appeared at DogCanyon.org.

2 Responses to “Adios to Richard From Texas, Part 2”


  1. 1 Terence November 4, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Cynthia,

    I just happened upon this post; it’s beautiful.

    Richard was a great friend of mine; we smoked and joked for most of the eight years I knew him. We took many walks around Town Lake, chatting, reminiscing about the 60’s (he was 25 days younger than I); philosophisizing, bullshitting, commenting on the folks we saw, and so on.

    Unfortunately, I was living in Asia when he passed so didn’t get to his memorial but I heard it was truly an event not to be missed. I was asked to speak at it (his son wasn’t aware I was not in town) and in some ways missed what might have been one of my greatest speaking engagements in my life.

    On the other hand, I’m not so sure I could have made it through without breaking down so maybe it was best to be gone.

    Anyway, I just wanted to give you kudos for this beautiful piece; it really painted a wonderful picture of Slice and his gonzo farewell party.

    • 2 cyndle January 6, 2011 at 2:53 am

      Terence:
      Thank you so much! I have to apologize for the delay in getting back to you. I’m rather haphazard about checking comments in my blog. You would have been right at home at the memorial — we laughed a lot and then sprinkled in some tears. I just miss that guy; we all do. But that image Liz gave us of Richard sticking his head out of the window and then disappearing is still a great comfort.

      Best!


Leave a Reply

